STARTS Prize – Grand prize of the European Commission honoring Innovation in Technology, Industry and Society stimulated by the Arts

Appointed by the European Commission, from 2016 until 2020 Ars Electronica in cooperation with BOZAR and Waag Society is issuing open calls to select the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the intersections of science and technology with the arts.
The STARTS Prize competition is staged in two categories:

Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts (and the cultural and creative sectors in general) that open new pathways for innovation.
Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Grand Prize - Artistic Exploration

I'm Humanity - Etsuko Yakushimaru   

credit: MIRAI records, foto: MIRAI seisaku

Grand Prize - Innovative Collaboration

Rock Print -Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich, and Self-Assembly Lab, MIT   

credit: Gramazio Kohler Research

Grand Prize - Innovative Collaboration

Artificial Skins and Bones - Artificial Skins and Bones Group

credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Grand Prize - Artistic Exploration

Magnetic Motion - Iris van Herpen

credit: Morgan O'Donovan

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020
research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 732019.